Contact Us  |

The Center for Agroforestry

11th Annual UMCA Agroforestry Symposium

Show Me More!

Value-Added Processing for
Missouri Agriculture and Forestry

January 30, 2020, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Bond Life Sciences Center
University of Missouri - Columbia, MO

Keynote Speaker: Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe

Symposium Schedule

8:00 a.m. Coffee and Registration
8:15 a.m. Introduction
Dr. Sarah Lovell,
Director, The Center for Agroforestry

Welcome and Introduction of Keynote Speaker:
Dr. Christopher Daubert,
Dean, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
8:45 a.m. Missouri Food, Beverage and Forest Products Manufacturing Initiative
Missouri Lt. Governor Mike Kehoe
9:15 a.m. Driving Innovation and Collective Entrepreneurial Action for Agri-food Producers and Processors
Dr. Randall Westgren,
Professor and McQuinn Chair of Entrepreneurial Leadership, University of Missouri
9:45 a.m. Tree to Table! Value-Added Mushroom Products from our Ozark Forest
Nicola Macpherson,
Ozark Forest Mushrooms
10:15 a.m. On-Farm Value-Added Entrepreneurship: Finding the Right Fit and Planning for Success
Ann Wilkinson,
Origin Farms
10:45 a.m. Coffee Break
11:15 a.m. Black Walnuts - New Opportunities for Missouri's Native Tree Nut
Brian Hammons,
President, Hammons Products Inc.
11:45 a.m. Panel Discussion: "From the Farm: Stories of Entrepreneurship with Value-Added Products"
Moderator: Sarah Havens, Natural Resources Field Specialist, MU Extension
12:30 p.m. Lunch (McQuinn Atrium)
1:30 p.m. White Oak and the Cooperage Industry, Bringing New Value-Added Products to Market
Garret Nowell,
Director of Log Procurement, Independent Stave Company
1:45 p.m. Food Processing Innovations for Value-Addition to Specialty Crops
Dr. Kiruba Krishnaswamy,
Assistant Professor, with joint appointment in the Dept. of Biomedical, Biological & Chemical Engineering (COE) and Food Science Program (CAFNR)
2:15 p.m. Missouri Department of Agriculture Programs for Advancing Value-Added Opportunities
Jill Wood,
Director, MASBDA, and Davin Althoff, Division Director, Business Development
2:30 p.m. Panel Discussion: Moving the Needle for Value-Added Processing in Missouri: Infrastructure, Finance and Policy
Moderator: Scott Brown, Director of Strategic Partnerships, Applied Social Sciences
Panelists: Davin Althoff, Division Director, Business Development, Missouri Department of Agriculture, Sarah Low, Director of Exceed, MU Applied Social Science, Ashley McCarty, Executive Director, Missouri Farmers Care, and Dan Cassidy, Chief Administration Officer, Missouri Farm Bureau
3:30 p.m. Closing Reception and Poster Session in McQuinn Atrium
with special reception presentation at 4:00pm by Gary Hinegardner, Owner, Wood Hat Spirits
5:00 p.m. Adjourn

Symposium is free and open to the public, but advance registration is requested, and is required for Symposium lunch.
Register at:

Unable to attend in person? Join us via live stream!
See details & register in advance at:

For more information, please contact: Gregory O. Mori, Outreach Coordinator
Email: | Tel: (573) 884-2874

The Center for Agroforestry would like to thank our
generous sponsors for their support:

10th Annual Agroforestry Symposium Sponsors
CAFNR Forrest Keeling Bond Life Sciences Center Missouri Wines MO Dept of Ag Elemental Enzymes Grape and Wine Institute River Hills Harvest 39 North
Copyright © 2012 — Curators of the University of Missouri. DMCA and other copyright information. All rights reserved.
Website maintained by AgEBB.